top of page

Sweater Weather Soundtrack

By ACRN Staff

The nights get colder, the leaves start to fade into oranges, reds and golds, and Donkey Coffee begins selling Chaider--it’s then that you know. Yep, it’s officially fall, and you better believe that we at ACRN love us some autumn weather. But mostly, we just love wearing our favorite sweaters. Here are a few tracks that make us want to throw on our biggest, comfiest and maybe even Cosby-est sweater. You should go grab yours too.

"4" by Aphex Twin

This particular song reminds me of fall and all of the awesome things that happen during that part of the year. When it starts to get chilly and the leaves start changing colors, it's time to throw on that sweater, go outside and do fun stuff. "4" is the perfect sound for the turning of the seasons, as well as all of the possibility and optimism that comes with it.

--Ross Lockhart, Staff Writer

"Dead Leaves On the Dirty Ground" by The White Stripes

Whenever the smell of crisp pumpkin pie passes my nostrils and the leaves crunch under my feet, I think of the tune "Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground" by The White Stripes. This jam's title alone is relevant to the season and exerts an I want to take a walk in the chill of fall while wearing a beautifully hideous sweater vibe. Plainly stated, I tend to get into a contemplative autumn mindset while listening to it.

The Stripes' piece is also a reminder of how relationships change with each season, causing me to have feelings of nostalgia. Most importantly, it is edgy yet comforting, just like my favorite Bill Cosby-esque sweater. Listening to this song not only makes me want to break out my favorite sweater, but it reminds me of my favorite time of the year.

--Capri Ciulla, Staff Writer

"Kids on Holiday" by Animal Collective

Whenever I find myself on an afternoon stroll on a nice, crisp autumn day, I like to throw my headphones in and lose myself in the nostalgic waves of Animal Collective's "Kids on Holiday." The nostalgia is personal because the first time I heard this song I was smack dab in the middle of sweater season. "Kids on Holiday" just reminds me of the calming simplicity of fall--watching the leaves change color, sipping coffee/hot chocolate on park benches and listening to the cryptic lyrics of Animal Collective. Ah, tradition....

But there's something about this tune that evokes the latent romantic in me, and I think that's what's really comforting. It's a warm sweater in an abstract sense, but nothing beats cuddling up in a real sweater, Cosby or otherwise. "Kids on Holiday" is just a familiar reminder to "Please, please, please, please, try, try, try to enjoy your roots."

--Sam Boyer, Blogs Editor

"Moon River" by Henry Mancini

Many things remind me of fall: crisp mornings, crunchy apples and cozy sweaters. But another thing that reminds me of fall is Breakfast at Tiffany's. Not only is it one of my favorite movies, but this Audrey Hepburn classic is also my go-to cold, rainy day movie. The theme song of the movie is the melancholy and dreamy sounding "Moon River" by Henry Mancini. An overwhelming sense of nostalgia is present when this song plays in the movie; I am instantly thrown into a dream-like state. Not only does this tune remind me of the movie, but it also takes me back to those rainy days. Sometimes I'm just having one of those days when I need to cuddle up in my warmest sweater with my favorite latte and "Moon River" captures those moments perfectly.

--Nadia Kurtz, Staff Writer

"Time on My Hands" by Billie Holiday

Sweater-wear tracks aren’t complete without the addition of the Queen of Jazz Singers, Billie Holiday, and more specifically, her ballad “Time on My Hands” as heard on The Essential Billie Holiday. The songstress’s heartfelt lyrics about “a love affair for two” mixed with the pleasant big band accompaniment make for a proper snuggle tune with your favorite article of wool clothing. Just be sure not to look up this singer’s tragic history while you’re listening to the soft trumpet-driven melody.

--Nick R.S., Contributor

"In This Home on Ice" by Clap Your Hands Say Yeah

I just want to spend forever in this sweater, sinking into my beanbag chair, listening to "In This Home on Ice" by Clap Your Hands Say Yeah. This nappy, brown, sewage-colored sweater has gotten me through every kind of weather, is not made of leather and feels light as a feather, ether and zephyr. Yeah, I know, clichéd, right? Maybe I’m a cliché. Maybe I don’t exist and I like that nonexistence of mine and I just wish to dance in my unreal imaginary being. The song “In This Home on Ice” allows me to do just that.

A raspy voice comes to greet you after a long and winding hall of synthesizer beats wiggle and weave you through rooms of self-loathing and unmanufactured post-'90s soft grunge love. The voice says, “Blue you radiant blue / I don't know how you can stand next to me / You talk like a noose / And only confuse my perplexity.” The lyrics overall match this sort of narration; an upbeat depression filled with nonsense that is almost making sense. I am diving into the beans of my chair, blue and purple and millions of pieces cutting my skin. Keep watching and keep checking my spot. Watch as I disappear into the empty quarters of the air--into each individual woolen fiber of this sweater which keeps me warm from the artificial Autumn that the AC keeps my dorm room in.

--Jeff Kassouf, Contributor

"Sweater Weather" by The Neighborhood

When you have lots of a good thing, you should always share it with others. Two examples are Bill Cosby and sweaters. Mostly the combination of the two: Bill Cosby sweaters. The song, "Sweater Weather" by The Neighborhood, is all about being altruistic enough to share sweaters on a brisk day. The lyrics make me imagine myself as the person sharing her sweater with another. My sweater would be a big yellow, turquoise and red polyester monstrosity in the true spirit of Cosby.

--Allie Levin, Contributor

"Mardy Bum" by Arctic Monkeys

When I think of sweaters, I automatically think “warm and fuzzy.” Now, I’m not the most romantic man in the world, but no song gives me a warm and fuzzy feeling like “Mardy Bum” by the Arctic Monkeys.

It’s the tale of two lovers going through the everyday things all couples go through. Isn’t that the beauty of a relationship? The ups, the downs and the in-betweens. At the end of the day, it doesn’t matter.

It makes me want to sit by a fire with my out-of-style sweater and sip on a cup of hot chocolate. Marshmallows optional.

--Jacob Betzner, Staff Writer

"Miss Misery" by Elliott Smith

Not only is this an essential piece to one of my all-time favorite movies,Good Will Hunting, but "Miss Misery" simply brings me back to feelings of autumn. Maybe it's because I watched the movie for the first time in October. Or maybe it's because Smith's lonely lyrics make me want to just cuddle up inside a big ol' sweater and sip on some hot chamomile tea.

--Christoper Dobstaff, Album Reviews Editor

"Come Pick Me Up" by Ryan Adams

Nothing says "fall" and "comfy sweater" like a sensitive folk singer. When the leaves start to change all I want to do is curl up with a hot cup of tea and jam out to this tune.

--Amanda Norris, Staff Writer

"Two Weeks" by Grizzly Bear

For me, this song is all about the feeling. Fall, and of course, sweaters, always make me want to snuggle up with some hot apple cider, a fire and some good ol' company. "Two Weeks," off Grizzly Bear's masterpiece Veckatimest epitomizes this feeling. The light piano riff and Ed Droste's airy vocals feel like autumn winds and the fall air with leaves drifting in and out. Really. Just listen. It's perfect for any time of year, really, but it particularly captures the coziness of October more than any other song.

--Carolyn Menyes, Managing Editor

"Broken Horse" by Freelance Whales

When I hear this song, I feel like I'm being wrapped in a fall sweater. As I listen to it, I imagine myself wandering through a fall harvest full of doubt and curiosity. Winter is looming, but we are gifted these three months to adjust and enjoy the beauty of colorful leaves, pumpkin flavored things, apple cider and cozy sweaters. "Broken Horse" creates that eerie stillness of fall days when the birds fly south and the leaves drop to the ground.

--Kathleen O'Leary, Art Director

“Holocene" by Bon Iver

Something about Justin Vernon's voice just makes everything seem so peaceful and warm. The same can be said about a good sweater. So when frigid weather comes along and all you want to do is stay inside, nothing is better than “Holocene” and a sweater. Because while the once beautiful trees become barren and blue skies become gray, this combination just helps you realize the beauty of it all.

--Xavier Veccia, Contributor

"Amsterdam" by Peter Bjorn and John

As soon as the shakers start and the whistled melodies come through, I can't help but want to take a walk and watch the leaves fall. Everything sounds perfectly hazy and off-kilter, especially the mellow, almost mumbled vocals. Basically, the song is just as fuzzy as my favorite fleece pullover, which I'd happily wear jamming out to this chill tune.

--Katie Pinter, Staff Writer

"Green Onions" by Booker T. Jones

A few days ago I came across a NPR Tiny Desk concert with Booker T. Jones. Naturally he played this on an organ as the first of his three-song set. Immediately I thought of two things: the legendary “You play ball like a girl” scene in Sandlot, and Bill Cosby himself. I can totally see myself throwing on my blue, red, orange and yellow striped sweater and busting out a few Pudding Pops dance moves to this jam. No old man can snap his fingers and twist his hips better than Bill Cosby.

--Benjamin Kramer, Contributor

"Sé Lest" by Sigur Rós

I’m not sure any song makes me want to burrow into a pile of leaves in my comfiest sweater, blinking up into the crisp, sunny autumn sky and just enjoy being alive more than "Sé Lest." It’s the kind of song that gives you chills and manages to instill beauty into even the smallest aspects of life. The haunting vocals coupled with the rising and falling melody create a vibrant, refreshing atmosphere that hits your heart and makes it hard to breathe. Even though it’s just shy of seven minutes, it somehow just doesn’t seem long enough--much like the delightful autumn season itself.

--Rachel Haas, Features Editor

“Harriet’s Got a Song” by Ben Kweller

There’s nothing obviously autumn-esque about Ben Kweller’s earlier “eff you” attitude circa 2002 in “Harriet’s Got a Song.” He doesn’t sing of changing leaves or drinking coffee or strum delicately on an acoustic guitar or anything like that. No. You’ve got to listen a little deeper and maybe even alter your standard ideas of fall.

“Harriet’s Got a Song” is a dynamic tune that transforms a hundred times (probably more like four, but still) within almost five minutes. It begins with welcoming guitar chords but then crashes into a punk rock attitude, only to fall unto the hands of serenity again at the chorus. Meanwhile, Kweller’s boyish attitude glimmers in his vocals that simultaneously want to be heard and forgotten. It is all those concepts of change, teamed with the uncertainty Kweller expresses in his lyrics, that remind me of all that fall brings: both new and old, good and bad, and everything in between.

--Hannah Cook, Editorial Director

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page