top of page

Lobsterfest Q&A: Wished Bone

By Jonathan Fuchs, Copy Editor

Wished Bone, photographed by Alayna Steele

The Athens DIY music scene has shown itself to be sonically differing; You can go to a house show, the Skull or Casa any night of the week and you’re guaranteed to see a local folk, indie, metal, experimental or jam act tearing up Athens. One of the biggest Athens-made acts is Wished Bone, the indie-folk duo of Ashley Rhodus and Brian Kupillas, whose debut EP pseudio recordings has been getting attention from all over the country. After their Lobsterfest performance, I got to chat with Ashley about recording, moving the to Los Angeles and new music.

So you just played your last set in Athens (which was killer, by the way). How did you think it went? How did you feel about it?

I think it went really well. I normally play by myself, so the first time that we actually practiced with the bassist, Collin, was today. He did such a good job- it was phenomenal. I think, especially for our circumstances, it went really well and felt really good.

What are your plans for you personally and for the Wished Bone project when you move to LA?

Basically, I want to focus on recording more and trying to play out as much as possible. I have actually recorded my next album, so I’ve been sending it to people out there. In general, I intend to play out more and kind of build on it as well as try to find more people to play with. The other counterpoint of Wished Bone, my partner, Brian [Kupillas], is moving out there with me.

Your EP pseudio recordings was recorded in a basement with a mini four-track. Was there a thought process for that decision? Was there a certain sound you were going for or were influenced by?

Not really. I had all these songs that I felt like I needed to get out, and that was really the only medium I had available to me. My roommate just had one and I was like, “Can I try to figure this thing out?” and he replied, “I never have so go ahead and try.” I just messed with it and that’s just kind of how it came out.

How did you collaborate with Topshelf Records for that EP?

They actually just e-mailed me.

Really?

Yeah. They were just like, “It’s been a talking point between me and my friends. We really enjoy listening to it. We’re interested in putting it out on our subscription series,” so that was really cool. They pretty much just reached out and e-mailed me, and wanted to do something with it.

Could you tell me more about the new album?

Yeah, it’s definitely different from the first one. It’s in a similar vein, as it was still recorded on a four-track, but I think it’s a little more experimental. My friend Eric, who played drums tonight, plays a little kid’s keyboard on it.

Like a toy piano?

Yeah, like a toy piano. [Laughs] It definitely has a different sound. It’s not as simple, but the lyrics are still kind of the same thing.

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page