top of page

Group Feature: Most Anticipated Record Store Day Releases


Today is Record Store Day – It’s actually here! Record Store Day may be considered every music enthusiast’s Black Friday, Christmas, and second birthday. Here at ACRN, you can bet some of us were waiting outside Haffa’s for a chance to snag and spin those sick, limited edition tracks. Here’s what we are excited for on the most glorious day of the year:

Eli Shively, Reviews Editor: The Thermals – “Hey You” b/w “White Rabbit” 7-inch

Let’s make this clear — 2016 is/has/will be an excellent year for punk. However, just because a bunch of newbies (Greys, Two Inch Astronaut, PUP), relatively speaking, keep stealing the spotlight week after week doesn’t mean the older dogs deserve to go unnoticed. The Thermals’s We Disappear is some AoTY list-quality material from a band who’s been around the block a few times, but still knows how to write a certified banger with just a few chords. Case in point: “Hey You,” a ripper that’ll remind anyone that they’re only as young and confused as they feel. With a cover of Jefferson Airplane’s acid-trip-in-song-form “White Rabbit” on the b-side, this little single is the go-to RSD choice for getting wild.

Devon Hannan, Features Editor: Blitzen Trapper – "Field Rexx"

Watching a band go from playing house shows in basements to playing alongside some of the best folk artists in the world has to be one of the most heartwarming things. I wouldn’t know in this case because I would have been six or seven at the time, but this Record Store Day, the music world has blessed me with the opportunity to travel back in time to witness Blitzen Trapper’s DIY success story. Although Blitzen Trapper’s peak has come and gone with their most recent releases, their career with Sub Pop was the best it has ever been (and will ever be), with knockout releases like Furr, and my personal favorite, American Goldwing. Prior to Sub Pop, their DIY days were sick and it burdens my heart to come to terms with the fact that one of my once favorite bands now produces lo-fi dad rock.

However, lucky for us this RSD, Blitzen Trapper is revisiting an old friend. For the first time EVER, the bluesy folk-rock band is pressing one of their first full length LPs on vinyl. Field Rexx, the band’s sophomore album, is a staple of their career since its release in 2004. The album sounds like it was made in a barn, however it was weird enough to get national traction. Without much difficulty, rumor has it that the production of the record has improved tremendously. Needless to say, I’m here for it.

Jonathan Fuchs, Copy Editor: Hello Kitty on Ice - "Man With A Hole In His Throat" b/w "The Answer"

Record Store Day is like Christmas for me. I remember last year waiting two hours in line at my local store just to grab a 7” of The Pizza Underground demo because they only had one copy (I got it, just in case you were wondering). It’s a great opportunity for vinyl lovers everywhere to grab some rare records from some of their favorite bands.

There’s so much good stuff this year, from Xiu Xiu’s Plays the Music of Twin Peaks, to Patti Smith’s live studio session of Horses, to Jay Reatard’s 10th anniversary pressing of Blood Visions. But one thing on my list is Burger Records’ 7” from Hello Kitty On Ice, the punk band from a 13-year-old Gregg Turkington (AKA “America’s Funnyman” Neil Hamburger). The songs on the 7” (named “Man with a Hole in His Throat” and “The Answer”) sound like they’ll be as punk as punk can get, especially with the band being made of a bunch of suburban teens. But what’s even more exciting is that this is the first time anyone’s hearing these songs, making the release seem like a surprise. Angst has never sounded so appealing.

Nick Dighero, Contributor: The All-American Rejects – “Move Along”

There are many good records being released this year for Record Store Day, but my favorite by far is the re-release of Move Along from All American Rejects. This record is full of timeless tracks, like “Dirty Little Secret,” “It Ends Tonight,” and the infamous title-track “Move Along.” I have been listening to this record for as long as I can remember. When I was young, I used to sneakily watch MTV Hits to consume all of the music videos that my parents didn’t approve of. I remember seeing the music video to “Move Along” and being inspired. I give this song credit for bringing me out of the “the norm” back then and helping me realize that there was a lot of music that I didn’t even know existed. Ironically, this is also one of my mom’s favorite records, and for this reason it is also one of mine; I remember listening to it with her for many summers and I hold those memories very close to my heart.

Van Williams, Contributor: Nothing – “A.C.D.”

Record Store Day is a cool opportunity for the true music lovers and collectors out there to get their hands on low quantity pressings, weird odds and ends, and rare b-sides. My ideal Record Store Day pickup this year is Nothing’s “A.C.D.” It is the third single that’s been released from their upcoming sophomore LP, Tired of Tomorrow and each track has been better than the last. There were 1,100 copies of the record released, pressed on white vinyl with a deluxe silkscreened b-side, featuring a track exclusive to the RSD pressing. With softly sung vocals, crushing guitar hooks, and one of the most exciting rhythm sections in punk music, Nothing is a band to keep your eyes on.

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page