top of page

Group Feature: Media For Which We Are Thankful

by the ACRN Media Editorial Staff

In the year 2015, technology, entertainment and all forms of media are a part of our lives. We use television shows as a way to escape from the stress of reality, we giggle over memes to distract ourselves from the darkness of the world, and we use apps like Skype and WhatsApp to stay in touch with people we love from all across the country and globe.

Be they serious, silly or downright absurd, us lobsters are sharing the media that makes us grateful to be.

Sam Tornow, Managing Editor: The Joy of Painting

The internet is a wonderful place, and this year it gave me something important to be thankful for, Bob Ross. Recently, Twitch.tv live streamed every episode of Ross’ acclaimed television show, The Joy of Painting. The live stream peaked my interest and lead me to fall in love with the afroed, ball of positivity known as Bob Ross. Every night after a long day of class I would climb into bed and spend a few hours watching Mr. Ross paint a beautiful picture of a mountainside or a cabin in the woods.

What separates Bob Ross from other television personalities is his optimism and friendly personality. No matter what was going on in the world, or even his personal life, he would smile and bring a little joy to everyone listening. To quote Ross, “We don’t make mistakes, just happy little accidents.”

Megan Fair, Features Editor: Pépito the Cat

The world can be a dark and scary place, but there is one pattern of consistency that helps me find my center on my worst days: the comings and goings of the sweet black cat from France, Pépito. Pépito’s sweet owner has attached a motion sensor to the cat door, so every time Pépito leaves or arrives, we are blessed with timestamp accompanied by a simple “Pépito is out” or “Pépito is back home.” Each “Pépito is back home” is a warm reminder that everything is a-okay. I am thankful for Pépito’s ability to adventure, and the happy truth that Pépito always comes home.

Eli Schoop, Copy Editor: FLCL

On this Thanksgiving, I'd like to give eternal praises to the old team at Gainax for producing perhaps the greatest coming-of-age story ever made, and my personal favorite anime, FLCL. I don't think any piece of media quite embodies my spirit and persona quite like the six episode show. It's truly one of a kind, from the frenetic pacing to the endlessly memorable characters and scenes to the perfectly arranged soundtrack from legendary Japanese band the Pillows, no media production could ever duplicate the madness and mayhem embodied by FLCL. Everyone who has even a smidgeon of interest in the medium simply needs to check out this show, lest you give up a mind-warping experience crammed in less episodes than more long-reaching shows. I don't think I'll ever love another thing quite like FLCL.

Jennifer Castaneda, Contributor: The Onion

Local teen finds it amusing to flood fellow Facebook friend’s timeline with articles from the world’s most reliable news source, The Onion. I honestly don’t know when my obsession with The Onion began, and I am not going to fight it. I will let it take over my life. The Onion is amazing. There’s quality content there, I swear. Even though it is mainly satire and sarcasm, there are times when the writers have decided that they’re not going to mess around and just be cutthroat about everything. I feel as if sometimes they have to take certain events and make people realize how nonsensical their arguments are, like the time they wrote about mass shootings and their title read, “’No Way To Prevent This’…" The Onion is truly iconic. Thank you Based God for the gift.

Van Williams, Contributor: Seinfeld

When talking about ’90s sitcoms, there always seems to be two types of people. Friends people,and Seinfeld people. I find myself proud to identify with the latter. Running for nine seasons from 1989 to 1998, in 2002 it was named “the greatest television program of all time” by TV Guide. Seinfeld, unlike many others shows, is just as good at the start as it is at the finish, however, the final season is a fan favorite. Living in a house where no one ever seemed to be able to agree on what to watch, Seinfeld could always be counted on to get the unanimous vote. The show covered about as much ground as could be covered from an apartment on the Upper West Side of Manhattan. The show covers everything from robbing loaves of bread from old women to gambling addiction to turning the area in the hall outside of your apartment into a stereotypical suburban front porch. Whenever life seems to be a little too much, all I can do is feel grateful for Seinfeld and say, “SERENITY NOW!!!”

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page