top of page

Group Feature: Block Party Playlist '15


The population of Athens triples on Halloween weekend. People flood into town for the biggest Halloween block party in the nation, a giant spectacle of dancing, carefully crafted costuming and endless beer. There will be live bands and DJs entertaining folks all night, but we here at ACRN had a nice long think about what WE would get hype to if we heard it at the block party. Just for you, we've explained just what gets us going about these tunes, and we've even put them into a nice Spotify playlist for you. Enjoy responsibly!

Abbie Doyle, Editorial Director: “Space Is Only Noise If You Can See” by Nicolas Jaar

What can I say; my idea of a party is rhythmically bobbing around (preferably alone, party of one please!) in a dark room as bass seeps from the padded walls. This song is many variations of one continuous feeling, one that is low and dark and dirty. I want to be inside it forever. I swear, as soon as I hear those opening flutters I am ready to drop some sunglasses, slink into a basement and stay there for hours. “Grab a calculator and fix yourself / Grab a calculator and fix yourself . . .”

Megan Fair, Features Editor: “Feeling Myself” by Nicki Minaj ft. Beyoncé

There is no song on this earth that makes me lose my mind as quickly as “Feeling Myself” by Nicki and Bey. Even as I seethe with rage at annoyingly crowded sidewalks on Friday evenings in Athens, the minute I hear even the faintest hint of Bey’s hook I feel invincible, hot and ready to chug a bottle of pink moscato while I dance until my legs hurt.

Eli Schoop, Copy Editor: “Save That Shit” by Chief Keef

Athens Halloween festivities are sacred grounds to the riotous populace of the town, and with that fact in mind, the perfect song to lead a party on the holiday is Chief Keef's “Save That Shit." It's the perfect soundtrack to a time that's notorious for causing Athens kids to lose their goddamn minds and for the police to do jack shit about it, which is exactly Chief Keef's modus operandi. “Save That Shit” is a tour de force of a drill song, where Keef makes it apparent he really does not care about such petty and fleeting concepts about love or affection. Instead, getting that money, homicidal intimidation and being zooted as hell takes complete priority. It's a steadfast reminder of the true meaning of Halloween and is a banger that would serve any party well.

Travis Boswell, Staff Writer: ”This Is How We Do It” by Montell Jordan

You know the deal from the first five seconds of "This Is How We Do It.” You know what song is on, and you've got about a second to get on the floor before you're the only one left sitting. It's an anthem that everyone knows, regardless if they're cruising in a big black truck or lounging in a ’64.

Jennifer Castaneda, Contributor: “Cheap Beer” by FIDLAR

The perfect party playlist wouldn’t be THE perfect true party playlist without “Cheap Beer” being played. FIDLAR is the band to party to. They’re rough, they’re tough and they’re all about getting “lit.” “Cheap Beer” is truly iconic, who doesn’t know the hook, “I! DRINK! CHEAP! BEER! So! What! F*#%! YOU!” Ian Cohen said it best in his review, “The finest example of…common ground for stoner, punk, skater and jock delinquency.”

“Cheap Beer” is a song I have to sing along to. As soon as it begins so does my head banging and hair flipping. It gets my adrenaline pumping, and I feel like I’m transported to a parallel universe that’s ruled by teen rebellion and fueled by angst, where punk rock is the answer to everything. I imagine myself crowd surfing the sadness away.

Devon Hannan, Contributor: “Helicopter” by Bloc Party

To be honest, I hate Bloc Party. But what would the “Block Party Playlist” be without them? (Probably way cooler)

Helicopter by Bloc Party was released in 2004 on the band’s EP Little Thoughts. I remember shredding this song on Guitar Hero when I was 12, and I can imagine me circa the present would still try to do so, given the opportunity. Especially drunk me.

The song doesn’t make me want to get down and funky; however, if I heard it, you can bet I would be singing the riffs. Let’s be real: the song is catchy and loud. Ingredients of what makes Athens’ own block party so irresistible.

Also if you want to get annihilated at Guitar Hero this weekend, hit a girl up.

Eli Shively, Contributor: “Look At Wrist (feat. iLoveMakonnen and Key!)” by Father

If there’s any particular sound in modern music that can hype me up the fastest, it has to be what many choose to refer to as “ignorant rap.” Rae Sremmurd, Migos, and Rich Homie Quan are just a few of the many names that may spring to mind when one hears the term, but in my opinion, no one quite encapsulates the spirit of the style better than Father with his 2014 track “Look At Wrist.” The beat is infectiously simplistic, the hook so rhythmically precise that it feels as though it was scientifically constructed to make you lose your freakin’ mind – and of course, the lazy-yet-confident delivery style from each MC here is, for lack of a better term, on point. Just thinking about it now makes me want to make it rain Washingtons and move my wrist around in circles.

Sam Tornow, Contributor: “Close Your Eyes (And Count to Fuck)” by Run The Jewels

The lights are flashing, people are swarming around like flies and the smell of stale beer is in the air. It’s a banger alright, but you need the perfect song to provide you with enough confidence to enter a sketchy, smelly crowd of people. “Close Your Eyes,” by rap duo Run The Jewels is that perfect song.

From the second you hit the play button, this track takes off with an a cappella chant of the group’s name which leads into one of the dirtiest backing tracks since N.W.A. The group spits every line with an unparalleled ferocity that is fueled by aggression. “Close Your Eyes,” is sure get the blood flowing and the hype going, even for the most awkward and timid of listeners. With all the bottled up energy, there is only one thing left to remember before hitting the party. To quote the duo, “Fuck the slow-mo.”

Jonathan Fuchs, Contributor: “Take On Me” by a-ha

Every time someone asks me what my favorite song is, I respond almost immediately by saying that “Take On Me” by a-ha is and will always be my favorite song of all time. It’s my go-to everything: party song, karaoke track, road trip jam, you name it. Just one listen to those electronic drums will cause me to make that weird creepy smirk everyone makes when the synths come in for the first time, followed immediately by dancing like an idiot and/or Kevin Bacon in Footloose. So the next time you see me at a party, play “Take On Me” to ensure that I know how to dance like a true dad.

Van Williams, Contributor: “My Best Friend’s Girl” by The Cars

Bands do not just release debut records where the first three songs are all charting singles anymore. It does not happen, but in 1978 for The Cars, it did. The record remained on charts for 139 weeks, and for good reason. The second track off the record “My Best Friend’s Girl” is everything to be asked for of a party song. From the upbeat palm muted guitar chords that start the song, to the synchronized claps, to one of the most sing-alongable choruses from the late ‘70s, this song has it all. And sure, this isn’t what most people would be putting on their party playlists in 2015, besides 40-year-old dads grilling out, but maybe that’s part of the appeal. This song was playing in the background of every party I never got to go to, in the tape deck of every El Camino and at the local swimming pool all summer. Perhaps it’s easy to look back on a time that you never experienced firsthand and feel a sort of longing for it, but either way… when “My Best Friend’s Girl” comes on, you’ll find me “dancing ‘neath the starry skies.”

Kenyetta Whitfield, Contributor: "Let Me Blow Ya Mind ft.Gwen Stefani" by Eve

In May of 2001, a certified banger came out and graced my then five-year-old ears. “Let Me Blow Ya Mind” has intrigued me ever since I heard it as a wee child. The song features lifetime cool girl, Gwen Stefani and the extremely underrated Eve. There will never be a day when the breezy sound of the Love.Angel.Music.Baby singer’s voice singing the anthemic lines, "And if I had to give you more / It's only been a year / Now I got my foot through the door / And I ain't goin nowhere," won’t get me on my feet dropping my glasses and dreaming of early 2000s sweatsuits. It’s one of those tunes that combines the girlish fun of 2001’s big hoops and glossy lip gloss with the hardcore femcee vibes of the '90s.

Recent Posts
Featured Posts
bottom of page